Historical Society of Montgomery County Illinois Blog

195 Years Ago Today... Changes were put into motion by the Illinois State Assembly changing the official Montgomery County seat from Hamilton to a new town. The site selected by the three newly appointed commissioners, Newton Coffey, Major James Wilson and Harris Reavis would soon be known as Hillsboro.

Posted in: Hillsboro

Post Rating


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one!

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.